Skip to main content

New Chair of the Board appointed

Katharina Kasper, new Chair of Children's Hearings Scotland.

The Minister for Children and Young People, Ms Claire Haughey, today (11 April 2022) announced the appointment of Katharina Kasper as the new Chair of Children’s Hearings Scotland.

Katharina will take over the role from Garry Coutts who served as Chair for eight years.

Katharina has a passion for reducing inequalities in our communities and ensuring that children and young people have the best possible start in life.

When asked about her ambitions within the role, Katharina said:

“I am delighted to be appointed as the next CHS Board Chair at a time of significant transformational change. Redesigning the hearings system offers a unique opportunity to improve experiences for children, young people and families attending hearings.

“Drawing from my own experience and skills, I aim to support the teams within Children’s Hearing Scotland to make these important changes a reality.

“I look forward to working with our volunteer community, staff, CHS Board and partners to lead change together within the hearings system to keep The Promise.”

Katharina is currently a non-executive director with significant experience of organisational transformation. As a management consultant she has worked with a wide breadth of organisations, in the UK and abroad, helping them to deliver sustainable business transformation.

More recently, she has taken on several positions in the Scottish public sector, which she tells us have been the most rewarding part of her career. She is a non-executive board member of NHS Lothian, a member of the West Lothian Integration Joint Board, as well as being a Member of the Scottish Police Authority Board.

Katharina’s professional background ranges from organisational transformation, risk management, to oversight and assurance. Her educational qualifications include an MA in Business and Law from the University of Edinburgh and a postgraduate Diploma in Enterprise Risk Management. 

Katharina’s appointment as Chair will be for a four year period starting 8 April 2022 and ending on 7 April 2026.

This appointment is regulated by the Ethical Standards Commissioner.